Too Much Lipstick Or Too Many Opinions?

I didn’t think ‘make up shaming’ was a thing until recently. One beauty Youtuber, Nikki Tutorials, made up half of her face to show the ‘power of make up’ and the internet responded with ‘liar’, ‘this is why I don’t trust women’ and other ridiculous comments. On this side of the world, another beauty blogger My Pale Skin published her ‘You Look Disgusting‘ video, to highlight her struggle with acne and the horrendous comments that she received. Lastly, any time Buzzfeed publishes a makeup related article, you get several special snowflakes commenting ‘I don’t get makeup, I don’t like the feel of it on my face, I’d rather sleep in in the morning.’ Since then, it has become clear to me that make up shaming is very much alive and it caused me to draw on my own experiences.

I’ve loved makeup for a long time. As someone who struggled with acne and self confidence, it became a way for me to face the world. That’s not to say I feel like I need it, I’m fairly happy  IMG_4781nipping out to the shop without any on, but I’ve come across some makeup shamers in my time. Most recently was last October, when waiting for a train to a gig, a complete stranger came up to me and said ‘That is far too much lipstick, you’d look so much better without it’. Well guess what mate, this is my favourite MAC Rebel and I’ll wear it proudly. I remember at the time myself and my friend were absolutely flabbergasted that this total stranger had the cheek to come up to me. Would I say to him, ‘terrible beard, you’d look so much better clean shaven’? I wouldn’t, because my mother raised me to always be polite.

I’ve also had people ask me why I spend so much time and money on make up. Let me tell you a little secret, it’s because its my hobby and I love it! I’m by no means good at it, but I enjoy it and I want to get better at it. Think about the likes of golf- people spend hours on a Sunday on the course and hundreds of pounds on clubs, but no one tells them it’s a waste of time, do they?

The other thing I absolutely hate, ‘who are you trying to impress?’ Erm….me, myself and I! I love going out of a night, but the thing I love most about it is getting ready, doing my makeup and singing to my iPod- ask my friends, I’m always late to pre-drinks because I get far too invested in my Taylor Swift impression whilst waiting for my concealer to set. Untitled

So this is a blog post for all you makeup shamers out there. Us women, we aren’t trying to lie to you by painting our faces and we don’t see it as a waste of money to invest in the latest Naked Palette, it’s just our hobby. Don’t begrudge of us of something that we enjoy just because it involves cosmetics.

Girls, keep wearing that bold lipstick, or don’t wear any makeup at all- it’s your money, your life and most of all, it’s your face.

Leila x

 

Leave a Reply

