Viva La (Makeup) Revolution

If you ever pop into Superdrug, chances are that you’ve looked at a Makeup Revolution stand. It’s an affordable makeup brand, famous for it’s dupe Urban Decay Naked palettes. I first discovered the brand last year in a similar way. However, it was earlier this year, when as a poor student in need of new makeup,I picked up their Focus and Fix concealer, not expecting much. Instead, I found a great product which, in my opinion, is comparable to Mac’s Pro Longwear Concealer.

edit 2

My next foray with the brand came a few months later when my Urban Decay Naked basics palette ran out. I had noticed a few blogs mention Makeup Revolution palettes, and when I saw the Flawless Matte, I knew I had to have it. Luckily, this was around the time they had the free £30 gift offer, so well planned on my behalf. I picked up several other items such as the colour correcting palette, Pink Lights highlighter and the contour palette. This was the order that made me fall head over heels in love with this brand.

With this in mind, I thought I’d use my blog to spread the word, so here are some of my personal favourite products!

Flawless Matte PaletteIMG_0013

A gorgeous collection of neutrals, I use this palette on a daily basis. You can use the browns to create a natural smoky eye, the pinks for something more subtle or the khakis for something a little more adventurous. The pigmentation is amazing, better than any other eyeshadows I have ever tried. Love love love.

Golden Lights Baked Highlighter

Two words: Hollywood glow. Again, another amazingly pigmented product, you only need the tiniest amount and you look like you’ve spent summer in California. I put this on after contouring and it’s just so sparkly!

Colour Correcting Palette IMG_0063

Initially, this palette looks very intimidating. I must admit, it took a little bit of getting used to in terms of what colour goes where, but once this is mastered, it makes such a difference to your makeup. I use the green on my cheeks to tone down redness, and lavender/peach under my eyes to combat dark bags.

Advent Calendar/ Black Friday order

Last week, Makeup Revolution decided to bless the souls of makeup lovers everywhere, with the return of their £30 gift. Needless to say, I put in an order straightaway, but when I logged onto Instagram afterwards, I noticed there were still items I had missed! I just want it all- no wonder I’ve had to ask for even more makeup storage for Christmas. makeup-revolution

Speaking of Christmas, the brand have decided to launch their own advent calendar. I could have cried when I saw it advertised on Facebook! I had my heart set on a beauty advent calendar, and I didn’t want one with loads of unnecessary creams that I would never use, so this was perfect. I’ve only opened a few days so far, but you get nail polishes, single eyeshadows and lipsticks, culminating in a larger gift on Christmas Eve- for £25 it was an absolute bargain.

So in all seriousness, if you haven’t already tried this brand, try them! Products start from £1 and a full 30 shade palette is £8.

Long live Makeup Revolution!

Leila x

P.S. I just bought a new camera and I’m still getting used to it, plus my room is super dark so I apologise for the poor quality photos!

Leave a Reply

