Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette: Review

I haven’t blogged in forever, but when I received this palette I knew I had to make an exception. You’ve probably seen it all over Instagram and Youtube. It’s the Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette; filled with amazing, warm tones.

ABH is most known for brow products, in particular the brow pomade which I have and love. I also picked up one of the liquid lipsticks in New York (soft lilac) which is by far the best I have used in terms of finish (and I’m looking at you, Kylie Cosmetics!).

So, I already knew that the brand produces high quality products. I first saw the palette on Instagram and I thought it was gorgeous, but I didn’t think that the warm red/orange tones were for me. I tend to stick to mostly browns on my eyes (the Too Faced Semi Sweet Chocolate Bar is my palette of choice) but with every tutorial that I saw, I fell more and more in love with the palette.

A few weeks later, I saw that the palette had finally dropped on Beauty Bay. I absolutely love Beauty Bay for those brands which are a little harder to get for people based in the UK; they stock Morphe brushes (my favourite brushes ever) and of course, the Beauty Blender, something that every girl needs in her makeup bag, or boxes in my case. However, it was a few weeks until payday, so I had an agonising wait for my wages. I was able to order on a Friday but it was Monday before the palette finally found its way into my hands.

First impressions

modern-renaissance-eye-shadoe-palette

The packaging is GORGEOUS first of all. It’s a really pretty mauve pink/lilac colour, simplistic but stunning. I immediately swatched all of the shades on my hand, blathering to my mum about how creamy and pigmented they were…I don’t think she really understood the fuss!

I work full time in an office so I tend not to wear much makeup during the week, as it maximises my time in a morning and enables me to be lazy when I get home. So, I wasn’t able to actually try the palette on my eyes until the weekend. On Thursday evening, I took to Youtube to watch some tutorials and have a quick go myself. I picked up some great tips. Probably the best tip that I learnt about this palette, and it’s nothing new, but always tap the shadow off before you put it on, as it is just THAT pigmented, and you want the colours to be buildable.

I was also extremely happy to see that my favourite makeup Youtuber, Nikkie Tutorials, posted a tutorial using the palette on Friday night. I love Nikkie’s work as like me, she is obsessed with glow. She created an amazing winged out eye, and it was actually thanks to her that I chose to create a spotlight eye.

So, when Saturday rolled around, it was finally time to use the palette as I was heading out with my friends for drinks. I always spend ages on my makeup at the weekend, so I put on my music and got ready. I wanted to create a warm spotlight eye, so I first used raw sienna to define my crease, followed by realgar and lastly, red ochre and cyprus umber in the outer corner. I then used my MAC paint pot in soft ochre to go over my lid, and used primavera as my lid colour. I used a MAC flat brush to push the red shade underneath my eye and finished off with a pair of Ardell Demi Wispies, which are definitely my new favourite eyelashes, they’re so comfortable.

Sadly, I didn’t manage to get a good picture of the look. Side note: does anyone else ever feel like whilst your makeup is on point, you can’t get a flattering picture of it?!

The Verdict

This palette is just incredible. I didn’t think I’d find eyeshadow that was softer to apply than the Too Faced chocolate bar, but my gosh I have! At £41, it’s not cheap but it’s definitely worth it if you love warm tones. I can’t wait to experiment with it further, but I couldn’t wait to tell the world how amazing it is.

If you buy it, let me know so we can cry about how beautiful it is together.

Until the next time inspiration strikes(!)

Leila x

Leave a Reply

